About Us

The Republic Residents’ Association (RRA) represents the community interests of residents at 25 Broadway Ave., 70 Roehampton Ave.; North Toronto Collegiate Institute (NTCI) students, parents and staff and the interests of residents at buildings adjacent to NTCI. We are a group of volunteers who came together as an association in 2010 to address the many concerns of residents who are living through the massive current and proposed densification of the Yonge–Eglinton neighbourhood. 

Most of us live in high-rises in this community and have benefited from new developments in the area. We are not anti-development but rather encourage developers to work with us to build truly liveable communities. We have worked with city planners, city councillors and developers to represent the interests of our community and to ensure that we have a voice during the development process. We support developments that provide much needed housing for individuals and groups, services and shopping, businesses and recreational spaces. The RRA is also a member of a recently established group, the Northeast Quadrant Alliance, which is also focusing on promoting the Midtown in Focus Plan as passed by City Council.

Geri Berholz
Terrence O'Sullivan


Leadership Team
Noeleen Disney

May Gardiner
Tony Gardiner
Miria Ioannou
Sam Laskaris
Anisha Mehta
Vesna Milevska
Elaine Mintz

Peter Munster
Renée Sylvestre-Williams


Photo Sep 05, 3 15 14 PM
Photo Sep 05, 3 15 14 PM

Photo Sep 05, 3 38 19 PM
Photo Sep 05, 3 38 19 PM

Describe your image




  • The Republic Residents’ Association (RRA) was incorporated in the Province of Ontario in February 2017; established an RRA Leadership Team with assigned roles and responsibilities.


  • Established a membership list and used channels to inform and engage our community including MailChimp emails; Condo Central; Facebook page and website.

  • 2012-19 – Actively participated in Midtown in Focus planning groups; engaged in on-going meetings with city councillors and planning staff; informed and mobilized the community; successfully advocated City Council to pass Midtown in Focus unanimously.

  • 2018 - Held multiple general RRA town hall meetings featuring local political representatives, city staff, police and guest speakers; organized all-candidates meetings for both the municipal and provincial elections.

  • 2017-2019 – Participated/participating in community consultation meetings re: local development applications at 89-101 Roehampton; 55-65 Broadway (party status attained); 39-41 Roehampton; both E-Condo towers and proposed development on Broadway; attended pre-hearings at the OMB to defend our position re: 55-65 Broadway with professional planning and legal support (using funds raised from our membership).

  • 2013-17 Collaborated with local Toronto Board of Education Trustee Shelley Laskin and North Toronto Collegiate Institute principals in securing improvements to the NTCI playing field, rooftop plantings and walkway, including the installation of skateboard ‘stoppers’.

  • Lobbied for and acquired traffic lights at Yonge and Roehampton.

  • Worked with the City to widen the sidewalk and improve terrain on the south end of the NTCI playing field.

  • Collaborated with the property manager at 30 Roehampton to widen the sidewalk along Roehampton in front of that building.

  • Ensured as much as possible that new developments benefit our community and do not hinder our safety or quality of life during and after construction.


Toronto City Councillor Ward 11 Toronto-St. Paul’s
Josh Matlow
Toronto City Hall
100 Queen Street West, Suite A17
Toronto, ON M5H 2N2
Telephone: 416-392-7906
Fax: 416-392-0124
Email: councillor_matlow@toronto.ca

Toronto City Councillor Ward 15 Don Valley West
Jaye Robinson
Toronto City Hall
100 Queen Street West, Suite A12
Toronto, ON M5H 2N2
Telephone: 416-395-6408 
Fax: 416-395-6439
Email: councillor_robinson@toronto.ca

Toronto District School Board
Ward 8 Eglinton-Lawrence and Toronto-St. Paul's School Trustee
Shelley Laskin
5050 Yonge Street
Toronto, ON M2N 5N8
Tel: 416-395-8787
Email: Shelley.Laskin@tdsb.on.ca

Legislative Assembly of Ontario MPP Toronto-St. Paul’s Queen's Park
Jill Andrew (NDP)
Room 115
Main Legislative Building, Queen's Park
Toronto, ON M7A 1A5
Tel 416-325-0071
Fax 416-325-4728
803 St. Clair Ave. W
Toronto, ON M6C 1B9
Tel 416-656-0943
Fax 416-656-0875
Email: JAndrew-CO@ndp.on.ca


Member of Parliament for Toronto-St. Paul’s
Carolyn Bennett (Lib)
Constituency Office
40 Holly Street (Main Office)
Suite 103
Toronto, ON M4S 3C3
Telephone: 416-952-3990
Fax: 416-952-3995
Email: carolyn.bennett@parl.gc.ca


Member of Parliament for Don Valley West
Rob Oliphant (Lib)
Constituency Office
1670 Bayview Avenue
Suite 310
Toronto, ON M4G 3C2
Telephone: 416-467-7275
Email: rob.oliphant@parl.gc.ca